What are the grounds for a divorce in Oregon?

On Behalf of | Aug 10, 2018 | Family Law

When things are not going well in a marriage, it may take a significant amount of time to realize that divorce is the only option and the marriage cannot be reconciled. During this period of trying to make things work, it is a good idea to learn about how divorce works in Oregon.

You should also look into the potential financial and logistical implications specific to your marriage. Performing this research before deciding to file means that you will be well-prepared if you did eventually decide to move forward with a divorce.

The conditions required for a legitimate divorce filing vary significantly from state to state. In the state of Oregon, a person can only file for a divorce if he or she has been resident in the state for at least 6 months. Once the petition for a divorce has been served, there will be no trial until at least 90 days later.

The grounds for an Oregon divorce

Oregon is a no-fault state when it comes to divorce. This means that one spouse cannot be blamed from a legal perspective for the breakdown of the marriage. Therefore, in order for a divorce petition to be recognized in the state of Oregon, the party filing needs to demonstrate an irreparable breakdown of the marital relationship. There should also be some acknowledgment of a separation for at least one year before the divorce becomes final.

If you are considering divorce in the state of Oregon, it is important to educate yourself about how your specific situation will be affected as a result. That can help you plan for a better future.